Sandy Loyd on writing series

Welcome to the Garden everyone! It's very cold today, pretty, but freezing. So, find something hot to eat, pour your favorite hot beverage and find a seat. Today we have Sandy Loyd visiting.

I’m excited to be here today on Mary’s blog, discussing series. Thanks so much for having me.

Bio: As a former sales rep for a major manufacturer, Sandy has traveled extensively throughout the US, and which has given her a million stored memories to draw from for her stories. She spent her single years in San Francisco and considers that city one of America’s treasures, comparable to no other city in the world. The books in her California Series, starting with Winter Interlude, are all set in the Bay Area.

Sandy is now an empty nester who has written almost two dozen novels in several genres. She strives to come up with fun characters—people you would love to call friends. Whether writing contemporary romance, romantic suspense, historical, or time travel, she always focuses on weaving a warm love story into her work, while providing enough twists and turns to entertain any reader. Check out her website at and sign up for her newsletter and receive a free e-copy of her latest Christmas romance, A Lowcountry Christmas Miracle, set in another great city, Charleston, SC.

I’ve written and published several series. My first, the California Series came about from memories of when I was single in one of the best cities in the world, San Francisco, CA. I wrote what I knew. Of course, single millennials have different mindsets, but I still believe most are still looking for that someone special to share their lives with.

Promises, Promises, the second story in the California Series was my first attempt at writing. The first story, Winter Interlude, followed. I loved the characters and because I like twists, I created a back story for the best friend in Promises, Promises.

As an avid reader, I never consider writing a book. But after tossing a very dissatisfying book aside, I thought “I could do better.” Of course, it’s much harder than I ever imaged. Still, after ten years of continuing the writing journey with more stories, learning the craft with extensive training, a ton of revising with two wonderful critique partners, and final rounds with an editor, I sent Winter Interlude and the first three stories in the California Series out into the world. Now, four years later, it’s still selling and getting good reviews. I’m proud to say, there are five books in the series with more on the way.

Right now Winter Interlude is free on Amazon, iBooks, Kobo and Nook. Consider it an early Christmas gift. The California Series, Books 2-4 is available at a special price for a limited time. All of the books are stand-alones, but there are recurring scenes with all the characters at different times.

Winter Interlude:
Do you remember your mother telling you when you were little that you’d never meet Mr. Right if you were spending all your time and energy with Mr. Wrong? And what about the book out a few years ago that created such a hoopla with the single crowd – He’s Just Not That Into You? The two main characters in Winter Interlude either didn’t heed their mother’s advice or haven’t read the book. Now, add into the plot that the two in question are enemies who regularly run into each other, given their current relationships. Paul Morrison, a hunky, blond, financial planner, has been putting time and energy into winning the heart of Kate Winter’s best friend for almost as long as Kate, a strong willed antiques dealer, has been dating James Morrison, Paul’s brother. The sparks start to fly when the two get stuck together for a three-hour drive to the mountains and years of misconceptions about each other are slowly being wiped out. It is in the confines of the BMW that the two begin their journey, taking them from being mortal enemies to lovers.

Winter Interlude tells the story of their adventure – of how they finally find love. Kate and Paul’s story is the first one in a series of four friends caught in a time warp. They can’t move on because they are stuck on their idea of their perfect dreams. But sometimes life works in mysterious ways and they are all forced by circumstances to change.

California Series (Books 2-4): Promises, Promises, James, and; A Quickstep to Romance
Three couples find their way to love and happiness in these heartwarming stories, (book 2 - 4) all set in the San Francisco Bay area. Experience a flirty, sexy & fun romance on a San Franciscan night in PROMISES, PROMISES, where one man finishes what was started ten years ago, yet can't walk away like he wants to..Read about JAMES, a man women love with one flaw - he can't commit, and the one woman who makes him wish he was different. And finally, A Quickstep to Romance is more than just Dirty Dancing when two dancing partners find they have more in common than they think.

Winter Interlude – Book 1 and California Series – Books 2, 3, and 4

Winter Interlude – Book 1 and California Series – Books 2, 3, and 4

Winter Interlude – Book 1 and California Series – Books 2, 3, and 4

Winter Interlude – Book 1 and California Series – Books 2, 3, and 4

Leave a comment for a chance to win an e-copy of The California Series – Books 2-4.

Thank you, Sandy for joining us! The series sounds awesome!


Melissa Keir said…
Sounds like a wonderful book! :)
Sandy said…
Thanks, Mary for having me. I'm pleased to be here to talk about one of my favorite series. All the books I write are like my babies, but the characters in Winter Interlude and the following books will always hold a special place in my heart.
stanalei said…
I'm posting a bit, late Sandy, but wanted to wave hello! Love your series!

Popular Posts