Skip to main content



PJ Sharon Blog day

Welcome to Mary's Garden. Hope you're all doing well. Welcome back, PJ! Garden Tip: Grow your own sprouts! The winter months can leave us feeling low on energy and dissatisfied with tasteless greens found in supermarkets this time of year. So why not sprout your own seeds to provide a fresh, tasty, nutrient-dense kick to salads, sandwiches, and smoothies? You can make do with a simple mason jar, tray, plate, or sack, but sprouting kits are available on line or at your local health food store. They usually come with easy-to-follow directions, a nice assortment of organic sprouting seeds, and a handy stackable tray in which to cultivate a variety of sprouts. It does take a bit of TLC, disinfecting and soaking seeds overnight, and consistent attention to twice daily rinsing, but it’s a fun project to share with your children or grandchildren to introduce them to your love of gardening and the idea of growing their own food. And if you’re like me, this is the time of year you start …

Latest Posts

An Early of Her Own by Heather Boyd

Welcome PJ Sharon

Dee S. Knight Blog Tour

2019 Plans Continued

2019 what are your plans?

The Beckett's By Mary Martinez